Fixing Doom3 BFG Edition on multi-display setups

I have a triple display setup with two 1080p monitors and a third 4:3 one, and I had some free time to kill, so I decided to give Doom3 BFG edition a try. The problem is that, for me it started full screen in a display that I didn’t want to play on, and in a screwed up resolution. As there are no helpful options in the settings menu, it was tricky to solve this issue, but finally I managed to fix it. So if you have this problem, here is the way to solve it:

  1. Open the D3BFGConfig.cfg located in your user’s home folder\Saved Games\id Software\DOOM 3 BFG\base in a text editor.
  2. Look for the line r_fullscreen. It is initially set to 1. By changing it to 2 or 3, you are able to move the game to different displays.
  3. Now to fix the resolution, first change r_vidMode to –1, and then set the values of r_customHeight and r_customWidth to your desired resolution. In my case the settings are:

    set r_customHeight “1080”
    set r_customWidth “1920”
    set r_fullscreen “2”
    set r_vidMode “-1″

Posted on July 20, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I have been trying this. It seems that every time I try to open the game, the file is being over written by something. This happens even if I set it to “read-only” state. Not sure what to do to get this game running on my main monitor like I want it to.

  2. When u open properties of doom 3 shortcut on desktop there is a tab that says “Shortcut”(normally opens up first) there you should find “Target:”.
    I just wrote this long command after the Doom3BFG.exe” and works like a glove. ;) Tanks a lot!!!
    Been trying for hours and this helped.
    Should look something like this!

    “C:\…\Doom3BFG.exe” +set r_fullscreen 1 +set r_vidMode -1 set r_customHeight “1080″ set r_customWidth “1920″

  3. works thank you

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 95 other followers

